Letter of Academic Title (LAT)

What is a Letter of Academic Title (LAT)?
Individuals who are not employed by UNM, but who participate in UNM’s teaching and/or research missions, as unpaid Instructors of Record or Co-Principal Investigators, may be recognized with Letters of Academic Title (LATs). LATs grant the holder use of a UNM faculty title while they remain in effect. 

Additional rights and responsibilities may be extended to LAT holders who actively participate in the academic mission of UNM.

All LATs must be approved by the relevant dean or director, and by the Senior Vice Provost to become effective. LATs may be granted in renewable terms of up to three years. LATs are non-continuing, meaning there is no expectation of renewal. If the sponsoring academic unit does not actively seek renewal, LATs will automatically expire at the end of their stated term.

CBE Faculty with Letter of Academic Title (LAT)

Chris Apblett

Research Professor

caapble@sandia.gov

Kateryna Artyushkova

Research Associate Professor

kartyush@unm.edu

Plamen Atanassov

Research Professor

plamen@unm.edu

Rodney Borup

Research Professor

borup@lanl.gov

Andrew Bradbury

Research Professor

amb@lanl.gov

Kimberly Butler

Research Assistant Professor

kbulter242@gmail.com

Alina Deshpande

Research Associate Professor

deshpande_a@lanl.gov

Laura J.D. Frink

Research Professor

ljdfrink@gmail.com

Martin Hanczyc

Research Professor

mhanczyc@gmail.com

Ying-Bing Jiang

Research Associate Professor

ybjiang@unm.edu

Bryan Kaehr

Research Assistant Professor

bjkaehr@sandia.gov

Philip Miller

Research Assistant Professor

prmille@sandia.gov

Harshini Mukundan

Research Professor

harshini@lanl.gov

Harry Pappas

Research Assistant Professor

pappas.harry@gmail.com

Thomas Peng

Research Associate Professor

thomas.peng3@us.af.mil

Carlo Santoro

Research Assistant Professor carlo.santoro830@gmail.com

Susan Rempe

Research Professor

slrempe@sandia.gov

Alexy Serov

Research Associate Professor

serov@unm.edu 

Scott Sibbett

Research Professor

ssibbett@unm.edu

Eric Spoerke

Research Associate Professor

edspoer@sandia.gov

Frank van Swol

Research Professor

vanswol@unm.edu

David Wilt

Research Assistant Professor

david@thewilts.net