Fernando Garzon


Phone: 505 277-2066

Physical Address

Room 176
Advanced Materials Laboratory

Photo: true

Distinguished Professor

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Director, Center for Micro-Engineered Materials

Research Group Website
Curriculum Vitae


Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania, Materials Science and Engineering, 1988

B.S.E. University of Pennsylvania, Materials Science and Engineering, 1982


Google Scholar

Fernando Garzon holds a joint appointment as a UNM Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering and a Faculty Research Scientist at Sandia National Laboratory in the 1815 organization, The Advanced Materials Laborator. His research interests include: the development of advanced gas sensors, fuel cell materials technology, energy storage technology, high temperature materials and devices, electronic conducting transition metal oxides, thin film growth, ceramic membrane technology, and solid state ionics. Fernando Garzon has co-authored over 140 scientific publications with more than 6000 citations and served as an editor for the Electrochemical Society Publication series, Solid State Ionic Devices. He is the inventor of an R&D 100 award winning high temperature combustion control sensor, and a new class of solid-state gas sensors for hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide and nitric oxides. He holds ten patents in electrochemical technology. Fernando Garzon is the Past Chairman of the High Temperature Materials Division of the Electrochemical Society. He was named a Fellow of the Society in 2008, served as Vice President from 2009-2012, and was the President of the Electrochemical Society for 2012-13, Serves on the Council of Past Presidents, and is currently a member of the ECS Technical Affairs committee. He is also a member of the Materials Research Society, the American Ceramics Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


Sandia National Laboratory (2014-current)
Faculty Research Scientist (Distinguished Staff Appointment),
Materials Science Department, 1815 Organization,  Advanced Materials Laboratory

University of New Mexico (2014-current)
Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering,
Chemical and Biological Engineering Department
Member, Center for Microengineered Materials

Los Alamos National Laboratory (1988-2014)
Scientist V; Materials Chemistry Team Leader (9 members, 5 PhD Scientists)
Electronic & Electrochemical Materials & Devices Group MPA (MST)-11 (1997-present)
Deputy Group Leader MST-11, (1999-2001)
Technical Project Leader (1994-1997)
Technical Staff Member, MST-11 (1989-1993)
Postdoctoral Fellow (1988-1989)

Selected Honors and Awards:
Los Alamos National Laboratory 2012 Fellow’s Prize for Scientific Leadership
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 2010
DOE-EERE Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Program 2009 Award for “Impurity Effects in Polymer Fuel Cells”
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 2009
Fellow of the Electrochemical Society 2008 (<2% of membership)
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 2007
Fuel Cell Seminar (San Antonio, TX USA) 2004 Best Poster Award
Scientific American’s Top 50 Science and Technology Achievements for 2003, Development of Sulfur Tolerant Fuel Cell Anodes
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 2003
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 2001
R&D 100 Awards 1999 - Sulfur Resistant Oxygen Sensor Technology
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 1997
Los Alamos Technology Transfer Award 1996

Professional and Synergistic Activities:
, Electrochemical Society, Materials Research Society, American Ceramics Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, International Society For Solid State Ionics
Member, Los Alamos Science and Engineering Council (Technical advisory board to LANL Director) 2002-2004
Member, Los Alamos LDRD-ER Materials Committee 2001
Member, Los Alamos, Fellows Committee 1997-1998


Selected Publications:

Research Interests

  • Electrochemical Energy Conversion Technology, Fuel Cells and Batteries
  • Electrochemical Synthesis Of Fuels and Chemical Feedstocks
  • Chemical Sensor Development and Sensing With Ionic Devices
  • Heterogeneous Catalysis and Electrocatalysis
  • Inorganic Ionic and Nanoporous Membrane Science
  • Ceramic Thin and Thick Film Materials Development